 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
| |
 |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
THE
OLD FARMER'S ALMANAC |
| |
WORLD
CLOCK - See
the current time at locations all over the world, a planning guide for setting
up meetings with people in different time zones, and many other nifty time
calculator links. |
|
|
| |
ASTRONOMY.COM
- From
Astronomy magazine, this site offers astronomy news, sky events, weather
information for stargazing, astronomy equipment guides, and a comprehensive
assortment of related links. |
| |
SPACE
CALENDAR - A
great Web page from NASA that covers space-related activities and anniversaries
for the coming year. |
| |
MOON
PHASE CALENDAR - This
site has an illustrated chart that shows the moon's illumination on each
day of the calendar for the years 1951 to 2015. |
| |
NINE
PLANETS - An
excellent site for information on astronomy: planets and moons, spacecraft,
astronomical names, a glossary of technical terms and proper names, and
a chronology of space discovery. |
| |
NORTH
AMERICAN SKIES - See
a sky chart (updated monthly) of the stars and planets in the night sky
as viewed from North America in mid-month. Times noted are Mountain Time. |
| |
PLANETARIA
- Locate
a planetarium to visit in cities around the world. |
|
|
| |
BIOLOGY
ONLINE - Everything
about the study of biology online can be found in this site's three main
sections: Dictionary of Biology, Biology Tutorials, Biology links. |
| |
BIOLOGY4KIDS
- Learn
about cells, microbes, plants, invertebrates, vertebrates, and scientific
methods. |
| |
eNATURE.COM
- This
site provides access to online field guides from the National Audubon Society
covering over 4,800 plants and animals. View a picture along with the description
of each species. |
| |
NCBI
TAXONOMY BROWSER - Find
the complete scientific classification of any biological species by its
common name or scientific name. Use plural words for common names - "butterflies",
not "butterfly". |
|
|
| |
PERIODIC
TABLE OF ELEMENTS - The
Los Alamos National Laboratory's Chemistry Division has created a dynamic
table which gives you information about each of the elements and a guide
to using the table. |
| |
GENERAL
CHEMISTRY ONLINE - Resources
and guides for students, including tutorials, quizzes, the Periodic Table
of Elements, and an annotated database of chemistry Web resources. |
| |
CHEMICOOL
- Based
on an image map of the Periodic Table, this Website gives you everything
you've ever wanted to know about the elements, whether they're gases, solids,
liquids, or alkali earth metals (or "other"). |
| |
CHEM4KIDS
- Learn
about the elements, atoms, matter, reactions, biochemistry and more. |
| |
ONLINE
CONVERSION - Thousands
of different unit converters are organized here by type: temperature, length,
cooking, volume, speed, power, etc. Find equivalent measurements for anything
you can think of!
|
|
|
| |
U.S.
GEOLOGICAL SURVEY - General
information and educational resources in geology, mapping, and water resources. |
| |
TERRESTRIAL
VOLCANOES - Amazing
photographs and clear explanations of the volcanic process. |
| |
EARTHQUAKE
HAZARDS PROGRAMS - From
the U.S. Geological Survey, this site provides current, historic, and predicted
information on earthquakes around the globe - and it's user-friendly! |
|
|
| |
MATH.COM
- In
addition to a basic and a scientific online calculator, this site also has
links for calculating other mathematical operations. |
| |
HOW
MANY? - A
Dictonary of Units of Measurements - Get definitions and conversion factors
for the English Customary System used in the U.S., the metric system, and
the International System of Weights and Measures (SIPM). |
| |
GCALC
- Free
Online Graphing Calculator - A talented (and generous!) student of mathematics
has programmed this free online graphing calculator. |
| |
DAVE'S
MATH TABLES - Available
in English and Spanish, this site is a great mathematical resource. Theorems,
identities, tables, graphs and formulas, as well as a mathematical dictionary
are available here. Go to the Math Message Board for answers to your math
questions. |
| |
ONLINE
CONVERSION - Thousands
of different unit converters are organized here by type: temperature, length,
cooking, volume, speed, power, etc. Find equivalent measurements for anything
you can think of! |
|
|
| |
eNATURE.COM
- This
site provides access to online field guides from the National Audubon Society
covering over 4,800 plants and animals. View a picture along with the description
of each species. |
| |
BOTANY.COM
- This
site provides the general description of plants, leaf shapes, plant diseases
and pests, and a dictionary of botanical words |
| |
PLANT
DATABASE - This
database of every plant in the United States and its territories is searchable
by common name. Information for each plant includes a profile with photograph,
the complete plant classification, and a map of the plant's geographical
distribution. |
| |
BOTANY:
PLANT PARTS & FUNCTIONS - A
useful illustrated guide to basic botany for students. |
| |
ENDANGERED
SPECIES - American
and international lists of endangered and extinct species, laws, treaties,
facts, full-text articles, and news on the topic. |
| |
ANIMAL
OMNIBUS - A
very large collection of links for animals under eight major animal groups,
including dinosaurs. Elephants alone have over 40 links! |
| |
BIRD
CHECKLISTS OF THE U.S. - Designed
to help birdwatchers across the country, this site provides bird checklists
indicating the seasonal occurrence of birds in national parks, wildlife
nature preserves, and other areas. Illinois enthusiasts will find local
information, too. |
| |
BUTTERFLIES
OF NORTH AMERICA - See
which butterflies inhabit any of the areas on the searchable map of the
U.S., northern Mexico, and Canada. For each location, you can view photos
and learn about each butterfly species. See if you recognize any of the
Illinois butterflies! |
|
|
| |
HOW
STUFF WORKS - Get
information on science, technology, culture, nature, toys, and more! How
Stuff Works covers hundreds of topics like facial recognition, biometric
technology, hurricanes, boomerangs, magna doodles, and football. |
| |
INVENTION
DIMENSION - Learn
about inventors and inventions, check out the Inventor of Week, try the
Brain Drain game, learn about patents, and get tips on developing your own
ideas. |
|
|
| |
WeatherNet
- A
comprehensive source of weather information - forecasts, current conditions,
color satellite photos, and radar images nationwide. |
| |
CLOUD
BOUTIQUE - Learn
to identify the different types of clouds with descriptions and photos. |
| |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|